Marriage & Civil Union Licenses

  1. Marriage License
  2. Civil Union License

The license purchased in Lee County should be used only in Lee County.

Due to the COVID-19 Pandemic a Marriage License Application will be done by APPOINTMENT ONLY.  Please call 815-288-3309 to schedule an appointment.

Where to Apply

Office of Cathy Myers
Lee County Clerk and Recorder
Old Lee County Courthouse
112 E Second Street
Dixon, IL 61021

The hours of operation for this office are Monday through Friday, from 8:30 am to 4:30 pm.

When to Apply

The application must be made at least one day before the marriage is to take place. Both parties come to the office of the Lee County Clerk to apply. The license is good for 60 days after the effective date.

Persons Who May Not Marry

Blood relatives, including first cousins, unless they are 50 years of age or older (SB876) may not marry under the laws of the State of Illinois (IRS Chapter 40, Paragraph 212).

Fee

The fee for a Marriage License is $35, no checks accepted from the bride.  We do not accept DEBIT OR CREDIT CARDS.

Qualifications for Residents of the State of Illinois

In order to be married in Illinois without parental consent, you must be at least 18 years of age. If you are 16 or 17 years of age, both parents must sign a parental consent form in the County Clerk’s Office at the time you apply for the license. If it is not possible for your parents to sign in the office it may be done before the County Clerk in your parent’s county.

If one parent cannot be located in any way, an affidavit may be signed waiving consent and presented. Identification required for all minors. You must bring your birth certificate when you apply for a marriage license.

Qualifications for Non-Residents

Non-residents can not obtain a marriage license if the said marriage would be prohibited by the laws of the jurisdiction where they reside.

Marriage by a Judge

If you wish to be married by a Judge, you may make your own arrangement prior to the ceremony by calling during office hours:

  • Judge Ackert            Phone: 815-284-5256                                                                            
  • Judge Lee                Phone: 815-284-5257
  • Judge Friel-Draper   Phone: 815-284-5253
  • Judge Klahn             Phone: 815-284-5254

The fee of $10 is collected by the Clerk of the Circuit Court of each county for each marriage performed by a Judge. No additional fee or gratuity will be solicited or accepted.

Return of a Marriage License

The license must be returned to the County Clerk’s Office by the officiant of the ceremony within 10 days after the date of the marriage.

Obtaining a Certified Copy

A certified copy of your marriage license may be obtained from the County Clerk’s office. Include the bride and groom’s names, including the bride’s maiden name, the date of the marriage, the number of copies needed and the fee of $20 for the first copy and $3 for each additional copy.

Mailing Address

Address your request to:
Lee County Clerk
P.O. Box 329
Dixon, IL 61021

Online Ordering

You can also obtain a certified copy of a marriage license online.